Skip to main content
Gala 2023

Nominate Someone Today!

Each year the Sam Cary Bar Association recognizes individuals who demonstrate leadership, professionalism and service and who reflect the legacy of Sam Cary. The recipients will be honored at the Sam Cary Scholarship Endowment Fund Annual Gala on September 21, 2023 with the following awards.

• Billy Lewis Young Lawyer Award • 

• Courage Under Fire Award •

• King Trimble Lifetime Achievement Award •

• Warrior for Justice Award •

• Ben Aisenberg Diversity Leadership Award • 

The committee will consider nominations which include a narrative explanation of how the nominee meets the award criteria listed below, the candidate's service, including how the candidate is outstanding and the impact of the candidate's service. Nominations will remain open until September 1st, 2023. Please send nominations or questions to Crist Whitney at

Award Criteria

Billy Lewis Young Lawyer Award

Billy Lewis, a founding member of SCBA, passed away in July 2011.  Billy Lewis, along with Judge Morris Cole and Philip Jones, established the first black law firm in Colorado.  Although a young lawyer, Billy took on tough cases and was an outstanding trial lawyer in Colorado.  This award will recognize an attorney each year who embodies his spirit and drive.

The criteria for this award are:

• A lawyer under the age of 40 who has been in practice for less than five years

• A member of SCBA who has consistently participated in SCBA and given numerous hours of volunteer time to SCBA and other non-profit organizations or community services

• A person whose service includes a variety of contributions, ideas, creativity and leadership

• Demonstration of significant professional accomplishment as a team member or solo in the larger legal community


Courage Under Fire Award

The Courage Under Fire Award is given in recognition that practicing law is a difficult task but can be especially daunting when a lawyer or jurist is "under fire" due to an issue or case that is highly publicized.

The criteria for this award are:

• Being under fire due to complex litigation on a high-profile case

• Successful handling of the case

• Handling of the case with professionalism, excellence, integrity and honesty


King Trimble Lifetime Achievement Award

The King Trimble Lifetime Achievement Award is to be given to a SCBA member who has contributed to the SCBA above and beyond the call of duty.

Other criteria for this award are:

• Provides consistent leadership to the SCBA

• Is a model attorney or jurist, not only to SCBA but to other bar members

• Demonstrated achievement in the legal profession

• Service to the community

• Selflessly, assists his/her African-American colleagues


Warrior for Justice Award

The SCBA recognizes that a person who provides ideas, creativity or strong leadership on matters involving justice for all is a Warrior for Justice deserving of an award.

Other criteria for this award are:

• Demonstrated dedicated service benefiting the African-American community

• A person of integrity and honesty

• Selflessly, stood up front on issues of importance to rights of others

• Need not be a member of the SCBA or the legal profession

Ben Aisenberg Diversity Leadership Award 

The SCBA recognizes a person who in Colorado has promoted the representation and participation of different groups of individuals, including people of different races, ages, ethnicities, abilities and disabilities, genders, religions, cultures and sexual orientations in the legal profession. The person need not be a member of the SCBA or the legal profession. 

Note:  These awards are not necessarily awarded annually, but will be given as determined by the SCBA Board.